The students' perspective on Villanova Sports.

All-CAA Teams Announced Today: Ten Wildcats Receive Honors

The All-Conference first team, second team, and third team were announced today, along with other individual honors and awards. Ten Wildcats garnered All-CAA honors for their play this season.

John Robertson was named first team All-CAA for his stellar play this season. The redshirt junior quarterback completed 67% of his passes for 2,629 yards. He boasted an excellent touchdown 34-3 touchdown to interception ratio. On the ground, he ran the ball 209 times for 978 yards and nine touchdowns. Robertson was also named the CAA Offensive Player of the Year. He’s also in the hunt for another piece of hardware, the Walter Payton Award.

Offensive tackle Vince Kowalski was also named first team All-CAA. The big 6’4″, 300-pound lineman from Williamstown, New Jersey, has started every game for the Wildcats since he first stepped onto the football field as a freshman. He has never missed a game. Kowalski was named All-CAA once before as a sophomore, when he was named to the third team.

Rounding off the first-team selections is Don Cherry. Cherry has emerged as a leader for the defense in his second year as a starter. This season, the junior linebacker tallied 112 tackles, 17.5 tackles for loss, nine sacks, one interception, and five forced fumbles. He has been a nightmare for offensive linemen and quarterbacks, often getting involved one way or another.

First Team All-CAA:

John Robertson (Villanova) Jr., QB
Mikal Abdul-Saboor (William & Mary) Jr., RB
Darius Victor (Towson) So., RB
Seth Fisher (Richmond) Jr., FB/HB
R.J. Harris (New Hampshire) Sr., WR
Michael Johnson (Delaware) Sr., WR
Tre McBride (William & Mary) Sr., WR
Nick Boyle (Delaware) Sr., TE
Harold Spears (New Hampshire) Sr., TE
Mike Coccia (New Hampshire) Sr., OL
Austin Gund (Richmond) Sr., OL
Bruce Johnson (Maine) Jr., OL
Andrew Jones (William & Mary) Jr., OL
Vince Kowalski (Villanova) Sr., OL
John Carpenter (William & Mary) Sr., K
Derrick Joseph (Towson) Sr., KR
Casey DeAndrade (New Hampshire) So., PR

Ryan Delaire (Towson) Sr., DL
Sage Harold (James Madison) Sr., DL
Evan Kelly (Richmond) Jr., DL
Victor Ochi (Stony Brook) Jr., DL
Mike Reilly (William & Mary) Sr., DL
Andrew Bose (Rhode Island) Sr., LB
Don Cherry (Villanova) Jr., LB
Christophe Mulumba Tshimanga (Maine) So., LB
Luke Rhodes (William & Mary) Jr., LB
Davonte Anderson (Stony Brook) Sr., CB
Casey DeAndreade (New Hampshire) So., CB
Tye Smith (Towson) Sr., CB
Dean Marlowe (James Madison) Sr., S
Christian Ricard (Stony Brook) Sr., S
Eric Enderson (Delaware) So., P

All-CAA Second Team:

Vad Lee (James Madison) Jr., QB
Stacey Bedell (Stony Brook) So., RB
Omar Osborne (Albany) Sr., RB
Darnell Laws (William & Mary) Sr., FB/HB
Daniel Brown (James Madison) Sr., WR
Reggie Diggs (Richmond) Jr., WR
Poppy Livers (Villanova) Sr., WR
Will Tye (Stony Brook) Sr., TE
Ben Curtis (Delaware) Jr., OL
Ross Hall (Villanova) Sr., OL
Mitch Kirsch (James Madison) So., OL
Mike Lisi (Stony Brook) Sr., OL
Tad McNeely (New Hampshire) So., OL
Peter Yoder (Richmond) So., K
Damarr Aultman (Maine) Sr., KR
Donnell Lewis (Towson) Jr., PR

Trevor Bates (Maine) Jr., DL
Cody Muller (New Hampshire) Sr., DL
Pat Williams (Villanova) Sr., DL
Blaine Woodson (Delaware) Fr., DL
Akil Anderson (New Hampshire) Jr., LB
Aaron Roane (Richmond) Sr., LB
Jonathan Spain (Elon) Sr., LB
Eric Wright (Richmond) Sr., LB
DeAndre Houston-Carson (William & Mary) Jr., CB
Taylor Reynolds (James Madison) So., CB
Reggie Barnette (Richmond) Sr., S
Joe Sarnese (Villanova) Sr., S
Brad Prasky (New Hampshire) Sr., P

All-CAA Third Team:

Michael Strauss (Richmond) Sr., QB
Kevin Monangai (Villanova) Sr., RB
Nico Steriti (New Hampshire) Sr., RB
Justin Favreau (Rhode Island) Sr., FB/HB
Gary Underwood (Villanova) Jr., FB/HB
Damarr Aultman (Maine) Sr., WR
Brian Brown (Richmond) So., WR
Kierre Brown (Elon) Sr., WR
Adrian Coxson (Stony Brook) Sr., WR
Brian Parker (Albany) Sr., TE
Kevin Malloy (Albany) So., OL
J.D. Dzurko (Delaware) Sr., OL
Tyler Catalina (Rhode Island) So., OL
Jacob Ruby (Richmond) Sr., OL
Cody Precht (Stony Brook) Sr., OL
Patrick Toole (Albany) Jr., K
Myles Holmes (Rhode Island) Jr., KR
Robbie Jackson (Rhode Island) Sr., PR

Jon Desir (Towson) Jr., DL
Matt Kaplan (New Hampshire) Sr., DL
Brandon Lee (James Madison) Sr., DL
Dustin Ruff (Elon) Sr., DL
Aaron Thompson (Stony Brook) So., DL
Justin Williamson (Richmond) Sr., DL
Patrick Callway (Delaware) Sr., LB
Airek Green (William & Mary) Sr., LB
Shane McNeely (New Hampshire) Sr., LB
Mike Nicastro (Albany) So., LB
Jason Ceneus (Villanova) So., CB
Axel Ofori (Maine) Sr., CB
Steven Thames (New Hampshire) Sr., CB
Chris Blair (Elon) Fr., S
Ivan Tagoe (William & Mary) Sr., S
Luke Allen (Stony Brook) Sr., P

CAA Football Individual Awards:

Coach of the Year:
Sean McDonnell, New Hampshire

Offensive Player of the Year:
John Robertson (Villanova) Jr., QB

Defensive Player of the Year:
Mike Reilly (William & Mary) Sr., DL

Special Teams Player of the Year:
John Carpenter (William & Mary) Sr., K

Offensive Rookie of the Year:
Josh Gontarek (Albany) Fr., WR

Defensive Rookie of the Year:
Blaine Woodson (Delaware) Fr., DL

Chuck Boone Leadership Award:
Jake Meek (Albany) Sr., WR

Tagged as: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Response »


  1. Week In Review: The Post-Tryptophan Edition (Week of 11/24) | The Bench Mob

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

About The Author

Eugene Rapay '16 created "The Bench Mob" in November 2013. He joined the Villanova Times in 2012 as a writer. A Westchester, NY native, who will bring top quality coverage of all things Villanova sports.


November 2014
« Oct   Dec »
%d bloggers like this: