The students' perspective on Villanova Sports.

2015 All-Big East Teams Announced: Four Wildcats Receive Honors


-Courier Press


Today, the Big East announced the All-Conference teams. Four Wildcats were recognized by the conference for their play this season.

Darrun Hilliard and Ryan Arcidiacono were named First Team All-Big East. Hilliard is one of three unanimous picks for a First Team selection. The senior guard leads the Big East regular season champion Wildcats in scoring with 14.2 points per game. He is a contender for the Big East Player of the Year Award, which will be announced later this week. Arcidiacono is right behind Hilliard with 10.7 points per game. He is the point guard that makes the blue machine go. Both Hilliard and Arcidiacono received Big East Honorable Mentions last season.

JayVaughn Pinkston and Daniel Ochefu were handed Big East Honorable Mentions. Pinkston posted 9.9 points per game and 5.6 rebounds per game. He may not have taken as prominent of a role on offense this season, but his importance is not diminished. Pinkston laid down two game-saving blocks in the games against Michigan and Syracuse. As for Ochefu, the junior center has truly developed on both ends of the court. He had been known for his post defense and shot blocking, now he’s a threat on offense as well. Ochefu averages 9.3 points per game and a team-high 8.3 rebounds per game.

Here are the teams:

First Team All-Big East:
Kellen Dunham (Butler) Jr., G
D’Vauntes Smith-Rivera (Georgetown) Jr., G
Kris Dunn (Providence) Jr., G
LaDontae Henton (Providence) Sr., F
D’Angelo Harrison (St. John’s) Sr., G
Ryan Arcidiacono (Villanova) Jr., G
Darrun Hilliard (Villanova) Jr., G

Second Team All-Big East:
Roosevelt Jones (Butler) Jr., F
Matt Carlino (Marquette) Sr., G
Sterling Gibbs (Seton Hall) Jr., G
Sir’Dominic Pointer (St. John’s) Sr., G/F
Matt Stainbrook (Xavier) Sr., C

All-Big East Honorable Mention:
Billy Garrett Jr. (DePaul) So., G
JayVaughn Pinkston (Villanova) Sr., F
Daniel Ochefu (Villanova) Jr., C

All-Big East Rookie Team*:
Isaac Copeland (Georgetown), F
L.J. Peak (Georgetown), F
Duane Wilson (Marquette), G
Angel Delgado (Seton Hall), F
Isaiah Whitehead (Seton Hall), G
Trevon Bluiett (Xavier), F

*All members are freshmen

Awards such as the Big East Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Rookie of the Year, and Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be announced on the first day of the conference tournament, this Wednesday, March 11.

Other individual awards and accolades will be announced tomorrow, Monday, March 9.

Tagged as: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

About The Author

Eugene Rapay '16 created "The Bench Mob" in November 2013. He joined the Villanova Times in 2012 as a writer. A Westchester, NY native, who will bring top quality coverage of all things Villanova sports.


March 2015
« Feb   Apr »
%d bloggers like this: